April 11, 2023

Workshop on Integrable Systems and Orthogonal Polynomials – Numerical and Analytical Perspectives


11 to 15 April 2023


Prof. Kerstin Jordaan (UNISA) and Prof. Peter Clarkson (University of Kent)


This workshop will focus on the relationship between integrable systems, in particular the Painleve equations and discrete Painleve equations, and orthogonal polynomials from both numerical and analytical perspectives. The Painleve equations, continuous and discrete, are nonlinear analogs of the classical special functions and form the core of modern special function theory. In recent years various interesting connections between Painleve equations and orthogonal polynomials have been studied. For example, rational solutions and special function solutions of Painlevé equations have a close relationship with orthogonal polynomials. The relationship between orthogonal polynomials and Painleve equations has interesting applications, for example to random matrices. From a numerical perspective, reliable and efficient evaluation of solutions of Painlevé equations poses significant challenges, and several approaches have been proposed in the literature, including initial value and boundary value methods in the complex plane and numerical calculation based on the Riemann-Hilbert formulation. Presentations will include survey type lectures on important developments in the area as well as lectures on recent results and open problems.

Target Audience:

Researchers, Postdoctoral Fellows, PhD and Master’s students. Spaces are limited.

Confirmed plenary speakers:

Cleonice Bracciali (Universidade Estadual Paulista, Brazil)
Peter Clarkson (University of Kent, UK)
Clare Dunning (University of Kent, UK)
Maurice Kenfack-Nangho (University of Dschang, Cameroon)
Ana Loureiro (University of Kent, UK)

Confirmed participants:

Christian Berg (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Jacob Christiansen (Lund University, Sweden)
Marta Dell’Atti (University of Portsmouth, UK)
Mafoya Landry Dassoundo (AIMS, SA)
Sameerah Jamal (University of the Witwatersrand, RSA)
Alta Jooste (University of Pretoria, RSA)
Erik Koelink (Radboud University, Netherlands)
Arno Kuijlaars (University of Leuven, Belgium)
Hélder Lima (University of Leuven, Belgium)
Christopher Lustri (Macquarie University, Australia)
Dieudonne Mbouna (University of Porto, Portugal)
Leslie Molag (University of Sussex, UK)
Boitumelo Moletsane (University of the Witwatersrand, RSA)
Antonio Moro (Northumbria University, UK)
Henrik Pedersen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
Shivani Singh (University of South Africa, RSA)
Sanne ter Horst (North-West University, RSA)
Daniel Tcheutia (African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Cameroon)
Walter Van Assche (University of Leuven, Belgium)
Alma van der Merwe (University of the Witwatersrand, RSA)
André Weideman (Stellenbosch University, RSA)
Jaccie Zeelie (North-West University, RSA)

Online participants:
Mohamed Jalel Atia (Qassim University, Saudi Arabia)
Christian Budde (University of the Free State, RSA)
Sung-Soo Byun (Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Republic of Korea)
Maria das Neves Rebocho (Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal)
Priyabrat Gochhayat (Sambalpur University, India)
David Gómez-Ullate (IE University, Spain)
Galina Filipuk (University of Warsaw, Poland)
Pinaki Kar (Sambalpur University, India)
Alisa Knizel (University of Chicago, USA)
Salifou Mboutngam (University of Maroua, Cameroon)
Ben Mitchell (University of Kent, UK)
Beatrice Pelloni (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
Sarah Post (University of Hawai’i at Mãnoa, USA)
Patrick Njionou Sadjang (University of Douala, Cameroon)
Yves Guemo Tefo (University of Dschang, Cameroon)
Kaobaiba Wakreo (University of Maroua, Cameroon)
Meng Yang (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

This workshop is funded by a Royal Society Newton Advanced Fellowship