Back to Profiles

Prof. Daya Reddy

  • University of Cape Town

Prof. Reddy has Engineering Degrees from the University of Cape Town and Cambridge University. He was appointed Professor of Applied Mathematics in 1989, and South African Research Chair in Computational Mechanics in 2006. He is currently Director at the Centre for Research in Computational and Applied Mechanics Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, University of Cape Town.

He has served on the South African National Committee for the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, the South African National Committee for the International Union of Mathematicians, and the National Research Foundation. He was elected a Member of the Academy of Science of South Africa in 1996, and served as its President over the

period 2012 – 2016. He played a leading role in the establishment of the Centre for High Performance Computing.

He was the first president of the International Science Council, received the prestigious Georg Forster Research Award and is a member of the International Advisory Board of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany.

In 2004, Prof. Reddy received the National Order of Mapungubwe ( Bronze), bestowed by the President of South Africa, for distinguished international achievements. 

He was a founder member of AIMS South Africa, became a member of the AIMS Trust in 2002 and currently chairs the AIMS South Africa Council.

Share article: