

Welcome:

Professor Barry Green, Director

**Introduction:** 

Dr Simukai Utete, Academic Director

Prof. Wim de Villiers, Rector and Vice-Chancellor, Stellenbosch University Prof. Maano Ramutsindela, Dean of Science, University of Cape Town

### Student address:

Ms Iness Kyapwanyama

AIMS Endowed Scholarships. These are awarded to students who have performed exceptionally well during the course of the year.

Ms Hanitriniala Malalatiana Rakotondrasoa from Madagascar

Mr Tolotranirina Gabriel Andrianarisoa from Madagascar

Ms Everlyn Asiko Chimoto from Kenya













# **Recognition of Achievement**

## **University talks:**

Prof. David Holgate, Deputy Dean, Science Faculty, University of the Western Cape

We would like to congratulate the following students who have been awarded

The Stephen Hawking Scholarship was awarded to

The Martin Rees Scholarship, was awarded to

The Paul G. Allen Scholarship was awarded to







**Recognition of Achievement** 

Master of Science

**Mathematical Sciences** 

**September 2021** 



Mr Tolotranirina Gabriel Andrianarisoa



Ms Abigael Jelimo Buttia



Mr Saviour Chibeti



Ms Everlyn Asiko Chimoto



Mr Joe Chinoya



Ms Precious Chiwira



Ms Thembelihle Rose Dlamini



Ms Thandiwe Siphesihle Dlamini



Mr Norest Gwasha



Ms Nobukhosi Siphiwe Jama



Mr Gracious Kunda



Ms Iness Kyapwanyama



Mr George Mwangi Macharia



Mr Stamili Twahiru Makurunge



Ms Tendai Nancy Mashiri



Mr Abrange Alberto Mavimbele



Mr Japhet Simalike Mlenga



Ms Rehema Mwedadi Msuya



Ms Lovejoy Musundire



Ms Ketty Muwowo



Mr Mathews Ntambwe



Ms Florence Aketch Owino



Ms Hanitriniala Malalatiana Rakotondrasoa



Ms Minosoa Valérie Emmanuellah Rakotovao



Mr Sitraka Mahonona Randrianarivo



Mr Milanto Ferdinand Rasolofohery



Mr Lighton Sakala



Mr Bright Simbeye



Mr William Simfukwe



Mr Khuthadzo Meshack Tshifura



Mr Joseph Muthui Wacira

We would like to congratulate the following students who have been awarded AIMS Endowed Scholarships. These are awarded to students who have performed exceptionally well during the course of the year.



The Stephen Hawking Scholarship was awarded to: *Ms Hanitriniala Malalatiana Rakotondrasoa* from Madagascar.

Research Project: 'Determining the most parsimonious tree' Supervised by: Prof. Martin Bucher, University of Paris and

Co-supervised by: Prof. Francesco Petruccione and Prof. Ilya Sinayskiy,

University of KwaZulu-Natal



The Martin Rees Scholarship, was awarded to: *Mr Tolotranirina Gabriel Andrianarisoa* from Madagascar Research Project: 'Elliptic Modular Forms'

Supervised by: Dr Dimbinaina Ralaivaosaona, Stellenbosch University



The Paul G. Allen Scholarship was awarded to: *Ms Everlyn Asiko Chimoto* from Kenya

Research Project: 'Neural Machine Translation for Low-Resource Languages' Supervised by: Prof. Bruce Bassett, University of Cape Town/AIMS South Africa/SAAO